Stay Connected with Penn State Abington Nittany News

Getting to know the Abington Alumni Society Board: Melissa Quintana ’06

Screen Shot 2014-12-22 at 1.28.52 PM

Melissa Quintana – BS Management & Marketing 2006

Who am I and what do I do?

Though my roots are from Puerto Rico, where I was born and spent my younger years, I am a Philadelphian through and through. So much so that I couldn’t bear to leave when it was time for college – thus how my journey at Penn State Abington began. I know live in Bensalem with my husband Sean and our adopted ‘fur baby’, Gigi.

Currently, I am the Marketing Manager for the U.S. Aerosol Division at Crown, Cork & Seal, Inc. – Crown is one of the largest metal packaging companies in the world. Some of my responsibilities include supporting our commercial sales teams, developing new marketing initiatives and supporting innovation processes to enhance our company’s products and offerings.

What position do you hold on the Alumni Board and why did you want to be part of it?

I’ve had the pleasure of being a part of the Alumni Board for the past six years. I first started attending as a representative of the PSU Philadelphia Chapter Alumni Board and I was later asked to run for the open secretary position, which I held up to this year. In May I was voted as President-Elect and I couldn’t be more excited about this opportunity. Being able to give my time and support to a campus that did so much for me is truly a blessing.

The Abington campus gave me the opportunity to obtain a ‘big school’ degree with a ‘small town’ feel. I always wanted to attend Penn State but really wanted to stay in the Philadelphia area and Abington did just that. I was able to really take my time and explore my degree, get to know my professors one-on-one, get to know almost all my class mates and never feel lost or like I was just a number in a big crowd.

What are some of your favorite PSU Abington or PSU memories?

My fondest memories of PSU Abington were meeting my best friends – friends that are more like family that I will forever have. I always looked forward to the activities in the spring leading up to finals – it always made those last few weeks of class so much more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

